PDA

View Full Version : Bow Saws, Just Curious

harry strasil
05-26-2008, 8:42 AM
I like to use my bowsaws so they cut on the Push Stroke. What is your preference for cutting, Push Stroke or Pull Stroke?

Ray Gardiner
05-26-2008, 8:52 AM
I proudly handed my new bowsaw to a friend yesterday to try and he picked
it up and proceeded to cut on the pull stroke.

The discussion that followed is still going on, I think he likes his jap saws
too much. Personally I think it feels better cutting on the push stroke, I can
control the direction of the cut better. I am new to bow saws and having a
lot of fun learning, I like the "lively feel" that a highly tensioned blade gives.

Sorry I can't explain it better but here goes.

When you cut with a pull saw the blade is in tension. With a bow saw the
blade is ALREADY in tension so it doesn't matter which way you cut.

Jeff Aldred
05-26-2008, 9:01 AM
Hi Harry:
I did most of my early learning from Tag Frids books, and learned to push the saw. It was sad to hear that Tag had passed away. :( I owe that man a beer.
I have recently been collecting north american style rip and crosscut saws and trying to learn how to sharpen and use them. Lots of fun!:o

Don C Peterson
05-26-2008, 9:55 AM
I don't have any bow saws. That's an area I have yet to get into although I've been looking for a while.

Given my preference for western style saws though, I imagine that I would prefer pushing to pulling.

Brian Kent
05-26-2008, 11:27 AM
My only bow saw is a turning saw. I push it because I can control the direction of cut better. I tried to pull first because I usually use Japanese dozuki and ryoba saws for straight cuts.

Bob Strawn
05-27-2008, 3:06 PM