PDA

View Full Version : Bow Saw

Ray Gardiner
05-25-2008, 10:45 AM
Here is a shop made bow saw made from Australian Sheoak (probably should be called a turning saw)

I am new to bow saws, and figured the best way to learn how to use one is to make one and play around for a bit.

The TFWW (grammercy) design notes formed the inspiration for the design as well as looking at lots of pictures.

The link to the grammercy design notes are here.
http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/Merchant/merchant.mvc?Screen=NEXT&StoreCode=toolstore&nextpage=/extra/bowsawdesign.html

Some construction details:-
The hardware is shop made from 3/8 threaded brass rod. Tapped and glued into the handle before turning. Then the threads are filed off on the wood lathe.

The blade was cut from a used hacksaw blade. It is filed 10tpi rip and approx 1/4" wide. I made a jig from some steel flat for holding the blade so that I could make straight cuts with an angle grinder and thin cut-off wheel. Then the same jig was used to hold the blade for cutting the teeth.

The tensioning wire is 120lb stranded fishing line leader wrapped around a few times.

So far I have found it to be a little bit too heavy when cutting sideways with one hand.
A lighter timber would probably help. The next one will be lighter and shorter.

One thing I am struggling with is what is the correct grip for using a turning saw?
I will include a picture of how I currently grip the handle. (probably all wrong!!).
When should you use two hands?

Apologies for the picture quality..

Frank Drew
05-25-2008, 12:24 PM
Ray,

I have a bow say but really never used it much; however, when I did, I used it holding low on one of the upright members (not one of the turned handles in line with the blade.)

Mine has a blade similar to yours in width, but I've seen wider blades (say 1") used to great effect.

Brian Kent
05-25-2008, 8:40 PM
Ray, what do you use for the fiber?