PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

Jerry Nettrour
05-25-2008, 1:58 AM
Hello, I have been a woodworker wanna be for about 5 years. I have practiced on my family and friends with several projects. I just began taking on paying clients.

I just read about the last 4 pages worth of postings and you all have real talents here. Even those who claim little to no experience make me feel like I should not quit my day job or anything.

Recently I built this vanity just for fun (my tools had been packed away for nearly a year due to a major move) but I have no real need for it and want to sell it. I think I have about $175 in it. Can someone tell me how to come up with a fair price and where I might go to sell a vanity. We live in San Antonio and are new to this area. Oh yeah, vanity is 5', fits standard 5' top purchased at Lowes/Home Depot, is made of Oak vaneer ply 3/4", solid oak face frame and solid oak raised panel doors, Golden oak stain with Teac oil finish. Has 6 total drawers including toe kick drawers.

Also helpful advice and critiques are welcome.

I am currently building a 12' built in wall book shelf with 3 individual equal units for a customer, 7 1/2' tall end units with center unit 8' tall and 4" deeper. The unit is made of MDF with poplar face frame, 6 raised panel cabinet doors outline the bottom up to 31" high. The one question I have is that I am getting ready to primer and paint white with Behr semi gloss white. Some of the MDF is machined by router, any suggestions on how this process will work or will the MDF soak up the paint. Also used MDF for the shelves while adding extra support under shelf to total 1 1/2" MDF shelf, the shelf spans 2'.

Thanks,

Jerry ;)89251

A link to some of my practice work.

www.jerrysworkshop.blogspot.com (http://www.jerrysworkshop.blogspot.com)

Dewey Torres
05-25-2008, 2:32 AM
Jerry,
First... Your web site and ambition will carry you much further than advice from us.