PDA

View Full Version : Making Radial Arm Saws Safer

Harry Niemann
05-20-2008, 8:25 PM
I read so many comments regarding radial arm saws as being unsafe. I think the reason people have trouble, is due to using the wrong type of blade. The correct blade should have a negative or zero hook or rake angle. If you draw a line from the center of the mounting hole to the perimeter, the front of the tooth cutting face should be parallel to this line, or leaning slightly backward from it. A table saw blade cutting face will be leaning forward from this line. This is called a positive hook angle. Using this type of blade on a radial arm saw will cause the blade to pull toward you creating an unsafe condition. I have been using radial arm saws for over 45 years and have never had a problem.

Joe Jensen
05-20-2008, 8:38 PM
Same advice I was given, and in 18 years I haven't had an issue. Having said that, I only crosscut at 90 degrees...joe

Peter Quinn
05-20-2008, 9:25 PM
The instructor for my motorcycle safety class some years ago (insurance company required it) when asked what the most dangerous aspect of riding a bike was calmly stated, "The single most dangerous part on a motorcycle is the nut that connects the handle bars to the seat".

Same holds true for a RAS. Correct blade, accurate set up, careful focused use and proper placement of hands is a must. My saw is a 14" Dewalt GR with a 24" cross cut...it never ceases to capture the users undivided attention.

I wonder how many wood workers who would never rip on a table saw with the fence toed into the blade a bit would consider operating an RAS with the blade healed out in a dangerous manner? And running the wrong blade on any tool is just stupid.

Jeff Duncan
05-21-2008, 11:30 AM
Agree with Peter on this one, if you have the right blade and technique the RAS is fine. Even with the wrong blade, if your hand isn't in the path of the blade you can't get hurt, kind of a no brainer right?