PDA

View Full Version : Pretty new member (first post of my work)

Rob Horton
04-08-2004, 11:20 AM
Hey all,

Well, I've taken the plunge and am posting my work for the first time. These are just a couple of small projects but they are my first attempt at creating something really nice. You know, something nicer than building rough shop cabinets and stuff like that.

These are a clock for my father in-law and a foodsafe for my mother in-law. This is my first time using a router (for both projects) and for making box joints (the foodsafe).

I'd love to know what you all think of them. Except of course if you don't like them. :) Just kidding! Any feedback is appreciated.

(Hope I didn't get the pics too large).

Thanks all!

Chris Padilla
04-08-2004, 11:57 AM
Hi Rob,

Nice work! The clock stand really looks nice.

I circled points on it that worry me a bit due to the "short grain" that is there. Does the clock pivot or turn on some axis there? I can't tell.

Rob Horton
04-08-2004, 12:13 PM
Hi Rob,

Nice work! The clock stand really looks nice.

I circled points on it that worry me a bit due to the "short grain" that is there. Does the clock pivot or turn on some axis there? I can't tell.

Yep, it spins on the those dowels. Actually I got the pattern from a clockmaking book and "upsized" it somewhat. So those "arms" are actually larger than the plans called for. They seem solid though so far (knock on wood). But I do see what you mean.

Rob Horton
04-08-2004, 12:18 PM
In case anyone is interested in the clock book it's called: The Complete Guide to Making Wooden Clocks: Traditional, Shaker & Contemporary Designs (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1565232089/qid=1081440936/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1_xs_stripbooks_i1_xgl14/002-1221181-2063225?v=glance&s=books) and it's ISBN number is 1565232089 (in case that link doesn't work for some reason).

John Haylow
04-08-2004, 5:19 PM
Nice work Rob! I'm sure your in-laws will appreciate them.

John

Ed Falis