PDA

View Full Version : Plane Type Id Help

Randy Klein
05-19-2008, 7:35 AM
This is my first attempt at trying to ID a plane type. I'm using the information at: link (http://www.hyperkitten.com/tools/stanley_bench_plane/dating/dating_flowchart_ascii.html). When I go through the flowchart, I end up with a type 15, but when I look at the details of that type, it doesn't match the plane's.

So I'm thinking I don't enough to even answer the flowchart questions.

Can anyone help me out? Here are the pics that I think are useful. There's no patent dates behind the frog.

This is the back of the lever cap. I haven't seen any mention of a patent date on the lever cap. Maybe this was a later add-on by the user?

Tom Veatch
05-19-2008, 1:49 PM
...when I look at the details of that type, it doesn't match the plane's.

What I can see in the picture certainly leads to a Type 15 via the flowchart. What are the features that don't match? If they involve removable/replaceable parts - lever cap, iron, frog, etc., then I'd assume that those parts have been replaced over the life of the plane.

Randy Klein
05-19-2008, 2:07 PM
What are the features that don't match?

The website says:

Type 15. Planes made by Stanley 1931-1932.

All of the features of the previous, except:
"MADE IN U.S.A." is now cast behind the frog.
All patent info on the bottom casting is removed.
"BAILEY" is now cast behind the knob toward the rib, and the number is now cast in front of the knob at the leading edge of the bottom casting. This is opposite to all prior types.

On mine, the "Made in U.S.A." is behind the knob, not the frog. And "Bailey" is in front of the knob, not behind it. This puts the number on the heel, and not in front of the knob.

Clint Jones
05-19-2008, 2:27 PM
Its a type 17 most likely a transition from the 16-17 about 95% sure.

Randy Klein
05-19-2008, 4:14 PM
Its a type 17 most likely a transition from the 16-17 about 95% sure.

Well, I'll take your word on that. Thanks.

Clint Jones