PDA

View Full Version : Laser Resource Site

Zac Altman
05-16-2008, 11:12 AM
I am thinking of starting up a laser resource site even though I am new to the business (havent even started yet). I know there are sites like ladyada and these forums which provide very good information, but it isnt all in one spot, if you know what i mean, and it doesnt include everything.

So I was thinking:
- templates (for iPods, Laptops, Phones, Woods, etc.)
- Settings list (for various devices)
- Links to Art resources
- Forums - Im not sure whether it would be a good idea to set up a whole new forum, or just link here (you guys would want me to link here, eh?)

Any suggestions for what should go on this site? any comments are welcome

Scott Shepherd
05-16-2008, 11:25 AM
Zac, I think you have great passion, but I'd be careful about posting all your trade secrets and work online for others to copy. There's a fine line there, as we all want to help each other, but there is a limit where you're running a business and you don't want to give everything you work on away for free so others can compete against you.

Just an example, if you post all the templates you create, what's to stop the guy down the street from buying a Chinese made laser for 1/4 the cost of your Epilog, then take your templates, and sell the same thing you do for less money, leaving you with a big fat machine payment and no work to support it.

I'm not saying you shouldn't share information, but you really need to be careful not to create your competitor. Let me say it again, I'm all for sharing information, but you really do not want to share everything you do. In the end, it will come back to bite you, in my opinion. I'll share anything I do with most anyone, but certain things, I take and share privately, rather than publically, so I have some control over who's seeing certain things.

Zac Altman
05-16-2008, 11:28 AM