PDA

View Full Version : Tablesaw tuneup questions

Dave Westover
05-16-2008, 12:11 AM
Just completed some work on my Delta contractor saw and have some questions. First off, I havent done much cutting on it so I cant attest to the quality of cuts yet but Im just getting started.

How much vibration is acceptable? I swapped the pulleys and belt for the inline industries performance pack and it did reduce vibration substantially, but I dont have any frame of reference to know if there is more vibration than I should be getting from this setup. Any old tricks or tests used to measure vibration? Any other places I could look for causes of vibration? Stand, legs and top are tight and everything sits level, but if there is something else I can do Id like to know about it.

Second, I measured the arbor runout and its near perfect. I put my blade on though and it measures about .003 off in only 1/3 or 1/4 of the blade. I assume thats just an imperfect blade? I checked the arbor flange and washer and both are in good shape. The blade (amana tool) came with the saw used so I dont know how old it is but Im guessing I can live with it being off by that much? Its sharp as a razor, that I learned the hard way. :o

The arbor pulley that came off the saw was about twice the size of the machined pulley I put on from inline. I emailed inline about it and was told (4 days later) that the pulleys they sent would give me a speed of 3800. I find it awful hard to believe that delta would have put out pulleys that didnt put the speed right around the normal 3450 though. Any similar experience with odd sized pulleys, or insight into this? I cant imagine the motor isnt a typical ts motor but complicating things is that its missing any ID tags or plates. Inlines setup is 2 1/2" and 2 1/4" pulleys. Thoughts?