PDA

View Full Version : Another noobie checking in

Carl Heidesch
05-09-2008, 2:14 PM
Greetings! I've been at this for a couple of years, so I'm not technically a noobie, but consider myself enough of a learning amateur to benefit from the collective experience and wisdom here, so I thought I'd chime in.....

Here are a few pix of a blanket chest I made for a charity benefit auction a few months ago, made of clear pine, hand-cut dovetails (my second attempt at these), a hidden compartment, and a few coats of patriot blue milk paint.... While not attempting to duplicate a priceless historically-accurate antique, I thought it turned out okay.
The winning bid at the auction was $175. In my own humble opinion, someone got a bargain... A more decorated one I donated a few years ago brought $500. But that's the way it is !:rolleyes:

Thanks for the opportunity to post some of my handiwork !
Carl

Pat Germain
05-09-2008, 2:32 PM
Welcome aboard, Carl.

I like your blanket chest. I agree it should have fetched more at the charity auction.

Jim Becker
05-09-2008, 3:10 PM
Welcome, Carl. And I also agree that someone got a bargain...

gary Zimmel
05-09-2008, 3:29 PM
Welcome to the Creek Carl.

Richard M. Wolfe
05-09-2008, 4:09 PM
Welcome to SMC from north central Texas, Carl. Nice work and a shame it didn't bring more. Don't see many painted pieces here.

Carl Heidesch
05-09-2008, 4:16 PM
Thanks for the compliments! It was a fun project to build, much more rewarding than just throwing money at a cause. I received quite a few compliments at the auction as well, which is always well received. Projects like these help as an excuse to spend more time in the shop, and the benefits of charity are doubly rewarding !
C

J. Z. Guest
05-11-2008, 1:49 AM
Very nice Carl. I'll add another vote that someone got a bargain.

I speculate that it would have brought more if it weren't painted and the dovetails were visible. (unless they're really dodgy, hehehe)

John Thompson