PDA

View Full Version : Setting up new PM2000...fence question?

Ken Taylor
05-06-2008, 9:44 PM
Hey, I'm new to this but diving in full bore.

I "just" purchased a Powermatic PM2000 table saw and have found the front end of the fence (the end nearest you) seems to be either bent or otherwise out of parallel with the rest of the fence face, barely. (Think of the fence face as long straight piece with all but the last two inches straight, which are angled to your left, towards the blade. Although it's just the last inch or two, it clearly changes the trajectory of anything I try to rip once the back end of the board passes the back end of the fence.

Suggestions to fix? Or, send it back to PM? (it's under warranty, yes).

Thanks
-Ken

"just" is a bigger issue....took 6 weeks to get the caster system fixed (which now works great!)

Frank Snyder
05-06-2008, 10:04 PM
Ken - Check the alignment of the T-slots on the UHMW subfence to their respective holes on the main fence. I found that mine were off and it was causing the UHMW to "buckle" in between the bolts. You can simply elongate the holes on the main fence so that the UHMW subfence can lie flat once tightened. Let me know if this helps or if I need to explain further.

Frank

Peter Quinn
05-06-2008, 10:04 PM
I'd send it back. A TS fence only has a few simple things to do in life, and being straight is one of them. Sucks not having a fence till they replace it. Perhaps you can be persuasive relative to their expediting the process (i.e.: yell, scream and stomp your foot)?

Matt Ocel
05-07-2008, 12:01 AM
Ken -

Are the last 2" off, as in its bent? or is the fence not properly aligned?

If its bent, send it back. If its out of alignment, just adjust it.

Frank Drew
05-07-2008, 9:35 AM
Brand new saw, I'd send it back if Frank Snyder's fix doesn't work (but be careful there, you don't want to void your warranty).

Rob Bodenschatz
05-07-2008, 9:41 AM