PDA

View Full Version : Essential Literature

Scotty Stepp
05-05-2008, 11:39 AM
I'm trying to educate myself on general woodworking and would like to know what you consider to be must have reading materials such as books, magazines, etc. Keep in mind that I am a complete beginner to woodworking.

Thanks.

Mike Armstrong
05-05-2008, 11:53 AM
Good finishing will make an o.k. project look fantastic and poor finishing will make great work look crappy.

I'd start with Understanding Wood Finishing by Bob Flexner, my favorite in this area. He covers it all, in a clear, straightforward manner. When you want to expand your library, The Complete Illustrated Guide to Finishing by Jeff Jewitt is also a must have.

Mike

. . . and remember my motto:

Tom Walz
05-05-2008, 12:09 PM
Some clubs have good libraries.

Jerome Hanby
05-05-2008, 12:26 PM
Bill Hylton's Router book (http://www.amazon.com/Woodworking-Router-UpdatedProfessional-Techniques-Woodworker/dp/0762108002/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210004485&sr=8-2)

Kelly Mehler'S Table Saw book (http://www.amazon.com/Table-Saw-Book-Completely-Revised/dp/1561584266/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210004537&sr=1-2)

Mark Duginske's Bandsaw book (http://www.amazon.com/Band-Saw-Handbook-Mark-Duginske/dp/0806963980/ref=pd_bbs_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210004605&sr=1-3)

And if you go through the SHOP (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/amazon.php) link in the bar above(or just click the SHOP link in this post) and buy the books from Amazon then the Creek will make a little money too!

Cliff Rohrabacher
05-05-2008, 1:31 PM
Honestly - - I'd just start messing around and make something you want.

Make a tool box. Make a bench. Make a rack. Just make something.

Jim Broestler
05-05-2008, 1:35 PM