PDA

View Full Version : flattening a tabletop...

Mark Vaughn
05-02-2008, 1:23 PM
can someone give me a short list of what planes to use in what order to flatten a glued up panel?

Chris Padilla
05-02-2008, 2:23 PM
If the panel is large, a 747 is often needed but if it is small, a Cessna will do just fine! ;)

Seriously, I'm a beginner neander but for flattening, you want a rather long plane like a #7 or thereabout...wouldn't you? :o

John Erhardt
05-02-2008, 2:36 PM
I think the short answer here is that you want a #6, #7 or #8. Flatten with one of those, then smooth (#4 1/2, #4, #3, whatever your preferred smoothing plane). Then scrape/sand.

The long answer is that it depends on the dimensions of your panel, and it depends on whether or not it's already pretty close to your final thickness. It also might depend on the amount of twist or cup in your panel. You'd typically reach for a #5 (set for a heavier cut) or a scrub plane as your first step if you needed to knock down a lot of material.

If you've got interlocking grain, then the answer could get a bit longer still...

J

Mark Stutz
05-02-2008, 2:36 PM
Not knowing your level of experience with handplanes or WW in general, I'll start by saying that IMO the most important tools are winding sticks and a straightedge. I often use the edge of my jointer plane. You need to identify the high spots with winding sticks and then use a jack or try plane to bring down these high spots. If the glue up is good, then this part may not be needed. Then use the jointer at a diagonal, then across the piece and finally with the grain, repeatedly checking with the straightedge and sinding sticks. Finish up with the smoother. Sound s lot more complicated than it is. Chris Schwarze has a very good DVD out on this kind of work.

Greg Cole
05-02-2008, 2:39 PM
The longer the sole the better of a flattener it'll be, there are numerous choices. I use a LV #6 followed by a #4 then maybe a little scraping IF necessary.