PDA

View Full Version : Solvent Printers Advice

Kevin L. Waldron
05-01-2008, 9:21 PM
I am interested in solvent printers and need advice. It appears that they run from A to Z in price. Recomendations for price, speed, dependablity, cost to operate and quality. There are specials running on Mimaki JV33-130 now($13,500). Is this just a entry level machine and is the next jump in machines($28,000) worth the cost and profit that the machine could make.

I also would like to be able to do photo quality indoor prints will these machines give the quality that some of the non solvent printers will?

Thanks,

Kevin

Doug Bergstrom
05-02-2008, 7:50 AM
We run both solvent and dye ink printers. What is the type of work you are looking to produce?

Kevin L. Waldron
05-02-2008, 8:39 AM
Doug,

Not sure. We are trying to go in a new direction, we have decided to divesify(we are general contractors by trade having done much of our own woodworking and metal needs through the years and we are not going to entirely leave that industry but with age we're tired of the govermental hasel).

We have a 5x12 cnc router, 48x24 laser and large wood and metal shops. Sign business is new to us and we are not sure of the direction that we need to go. We like the looks of some ot the things that they are calling lithography's that have laser work, router work and artwork on them. Thus the need for some kind of a printer. We are familiar with plotters etc. just haven't done a lot of pictures/photo's. Thus our question.

We would like to be the out source for other local shops as well as have a strong presence on the internet and probably not open a retail outlet. We have large amounts of equipment and material due to the nature of our business and think that we can offer capabilities to other shops that they can't get anywhere else. We want a niche were there aren't a lot of other players.

Thanks,

Kevin

Joe Pelonio
05-02-2008, 10:23 AM