PDA

View Full Version : New Planer (Ridgid 4330)

Tony Cox
04-30-2008, 1:05 PM
Yesterday (4/29) was our 13th wedding anniversary so I went and bought myself a planer. Consider it my way to stimulate the economy. :D

Well, it really wasn't for my anniversary, but because the Power Tool sale at Home Depot was over today and they had 2 of these in stock. So I thought it was a good time to get one. I have no experience with a planer, but I am eager to learn.:)

I was looking at the Dewalt, but really didn't want to come off $500 at this time. Getting this one for $309 seemed like a good alternative. Anyone who has the 4330 seems to really like it and I tend to trust word-of-mouth. It's done me pretty good so far.

I was going to buy an extra set of blades, but since they are reversible I didn't. The store had plenty of them and the blades for the 1300 in stock so I didn't feel a need to be concerned.

Here it is right out of the box.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=87449&stc=1&d=1209574923

Now I need to practice.

Bob Knodel
04-30-2008, 1:21 PM
Congratulations!!!!! I have been looking at that one for awhile. It's between the Rigid and the Dewalt. If I can get out of my shop today I think I will go down and pick one of them up.

Bob

Tony Cox
04-30-2008, 1:28 PM
Well, I can't testify to this one yet. I do have someone here at work that has the Dewalt and really likes it. The only thing I wish this one had is 2 speeds. That feature in the Dewalt did appeal to me, but I still decided on this one.

Greg Cole
04-30-2008, 1:47 PM
I've had the predecessor of that Rigid lunchbox for awhile now. It's been a work horse and I can't really complain about it other than it's under powered for wide hard stock, but for the price ya can't "get it all". I have lust for a bigger stationary one, but I'll keep the "lunchbox" regardless.
The 3 blade cutter head is a nice improvement.