PDA

View Full Version : Polycarbonate newbie

Dave Kurt
04-29-2008, 12:24 PM
I just received a quote request for material I have never worked with before:

"We are interested in laser engraving simple text about 0.15” high by 1” long on a 4x12” piece of polycarbonate. Can you please quote about 200 units?"

Should I get more information? Any machine or health implications I should be aware of? Any quote amount suggestions?

Bruce Volden
04-29-2008, 12:33 PM
It engraves similar to acrylic, just don't "dwell" too long (go fast) as it will puddle?? In other words depth is hard to achieve in a single pass.

Bruce

Scott Shepherd
04-29-2008, 12:47 PM
Find out what name polycarbonate they want. Prices can be very different. I had a quote come through the other day for a sign and it said "Lexan" as the material. It was a large sign that would be mounted to the wall. I called the customer and asked why Lexan. He said "I don't know, I just picked one". I informed him that Lexan was 3 times the cost of acrylic and it's properties gave him no advantage for a sign that would be screwed to the wall.

He then said "Maybe that's why my last quote for it was so high".

It never hurts to asks about the material. It can save the customer a lot of money, which will gain you a tremendous amount of credibility when it comes to doing their work.

Richard Rumancik
04-29-2008, 1:32 PM
If it is "decorative" text you might not have good results on polycarbonate. If just a part number or identification it might be adequate. Ask for a sample to test. Acrylic lasers much better than PC as it vaporizes.

You may see some yellow/green smoke. With engraving, it might not be that noticeable. Make sure you use air assist, good exhaust and ventilation. Keep your face above the lid when possible when opening the laser so you don't breathe the fumes.