PDA

View Full Version : Ripping 8/4 walnut

George Carion
04-27-2008, 11:31 PM
Being a novice, I don't generally work with stock above 4/4. However, I'm about to get started on a walnut coffee table and I want the top to be 1" thick. My local hardwood place only had 4/4 and 8/4 S3S stock. I'm hoping I can rip the 8/4 down to just over 1" thickness on the BS and plane it smooth to 1". Doing this will leave me some usable material as opposed to using a thickness planer and chewing up the extra $$ wood.

My question... I'm very worried that the 1" boards will warp badly after they've been ripped. Should I even attempt this, or should I just plane even amounts from both top and bottom of each board.

Thanks!

Jim Becker
04-27-2008, 11:39 PM
If the material was dried properly, you'll likely not have too much issue with movement, but you'll want to plane off a little more from the original face than from the resawn face to help with even moisture exposure.

David DeCristoforo
04-27-2008, 11:40 PM
I wish I was God because then I could answer your question. He would be the only one who can tell you if your resawn boards will cup but if I had to lay money on it I would say "they could" but they might not.....

Don Abele
04-27-2008, 11:56 PM
George, I ran into this same problem when I made my kitchen table. I wanted it 1" thick but could only get 8/4 walnut. I was REALLY worried about cupping, so I decided to be as safe as I could.

I resawed 1/4 inch off each face - taking it from 8/4 to 6/4. I then let it sit for a week. There was no noticeable cup. I then planned it down to 1" by taking equal amounts off each face.

Yes, I wasted A LOT of walnut, but the table is still straight as an arrow six years later!

Be well,

Doc

Joe Jensen
04-28-2008, 1:28 AM