PDA

View Full Version : Joinery options for 1/2" plywood tack trunk

Ken Cohen
04-27-2008, 12:50 PM
I am a relative newbie designing a tack trunk for my daughter (tack trunk is a semi mobile chest used to store horse riding equipment -- weight reduction is important ). I'm looking to build something nicer than normal, functional, but not necessarily fine furniture (In the end, it sits in a barn. )

I reviewed available commercial and custom designs and they all seem to be based on 1/2" BB plywood box wrapped by horizontal hardwood bands at the top and bottom -- with the top band often forming the opening plane. Occasionally, some of the nicer ones add vertical corner banding.

My question is what is the appropriate joinery technique for the plywood components. Unless someone feels very strongly about it, I am not particularly interested in the obvious "best" answer: dovetail or box joint or something that requires a router table (i.e. lock miters). My goal is great looking piece that is strong enough. Choices:

1. Rabbet joints (with possible exception of dado on the bottom to provide additional strength and allow for wheels)

2. Butt joints with biscuits (I don't own a biscuit joiner)

3. Butt Joints with screws -- either screwed externally and covered with hardwood banding or screwed internally using inside small square corner braces.

4. Other ideas??

Thanks in advance for the help. There are lots of helpful posts in this forum on 3/4" ply in less active situations, but none to my knowledge on this situation.

Ken

And another newbie PS, can I attach the hardwood directly to the plywood and not have to worry about any HW wood movement?

Doug Shepard
04-27-2008, 1:03 PM
You dont need a router table for box joints if you've got a stacked dado blade. It's a whole lot quicker than a router anyway, specially if you clamp the 2 opposite sides together and cut them 2 at a time.
I did these tool storage boxes from 1/2" ply (see the bottom pics) and a shop made jig.