PDA

View Full Version : newbie with Koa wood

Bob Grimshaw
04-26-2008, 10:26 AM
Edit: Sorry that picture shows up so huge!

I'm fairly new to woodworking and have built just one cabinet so far. Still, when I went looking for a single piece of Koa to bring home during my trip to Hawaii, I stumbled on a great deal and snatched it up. My wonderful and gracious wife helped me lug home a stack of small boards, but now I am at a loss as to what to do with them.

Whatever I make should look somewhat modern, not tropical like the furniture I saw in Hawaii. I was thinking I could achieve that by using some other woods with it, like Walnut or Ebony, to give whatever I make some dark, sleek lines. I thought about a picture frame or two, but I don't know if that would adequately show off the wood. Maybe you guys could help?

Here is a link to a photobucket album of shots of all the pieces (I cropped them in so I could use them as textures in Sketchup to design whatever I'm gonna make). Warning: The files are large. The sizes of the boards is the title of each picture, each is 7/8" thick except one, which is marked, and is 2" thick.
http://s171.photobucket.com/albums/u319/BitterBastard/Koa%20Wood/

A sample for those that don't want to see all of them:
http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u319/BitterBastard/Koa%20Wood/FlameBoard-Side2.jpg

Thanks!

Bob Grimshaw
04-26-2008, 11:39 AM
The dimensions of the pieces:
18" x 5.25" x 7/8"
20.5" x 5" x 7/8"
17" x 4" x 7/8"
16.25" x 7.25" x 7/8"
19.5" x 3.75" x 7/8"
19.5" x 3" x 7/8"
22" x 6" x 7/8"
22" x 5" x 7/8"
18.25" x 9.75" x 7/8"

23.5" x 9" x 2"

I'm probably looking to do something small, maybe as big as a small chest (which I would obviously need other wood for). Any ideas on what I can make?

alex grams
04-26-2008, 12:13 PM