PDA

View Full Version : Old Arn Gloat

Matt Meiser
04-25-2008, 10:21 PM
I won't spoil his gloat, but another Creeker agreed to buy my contractor saw which he picked up tonight. That meant I got to buy this saw, which I picked up last night.

Its a 1947 Unisaw. Its has been stripped and repainted, new bearings, and had the top reground. It had a Unifence but the seller offered me the choice of that or a brand new Biesemeyer from the Lowes clearance a while back. Since I've been using a Biesemeyer for the past 7 years I decided to stick with that. It needs a few things taken care of but overall is in good shape. It has the original 1-1/2HP single phase motor repulsion-induction motor which is an absolute beast.

The biggest problem is that the reground top caused the miter slots to be slightly less than the standard 3/8" depth, meaning the miter bar on my Incra gauge is proud of the top. I got the stock miter gauge with it as well, which was also ground to fit properly but I'm not giving up my Incra so I'm taking my it's miter bar over to my dad tomorrow so he can mill it thinner. I don't think running it through the planer is a good idea. :rolleyes: That was a surprise to me but in won't be a major issue since the miter gauge is the only thing I run through the slots. If I ever make a panel sled I can accommodate.

I also need to figure out dust collection and I want to put modern pushbutton controls on it--I got used to having a mushroom head pushbutton where I could hit it with my knee and don't want to give that feature up. I found a guy reproducing the motor covers in fiberglass so I'm planning to order one of those. Then I need to build a new side table/router table and I just realized tonight that it sits about 1" lower than my old saw so I have to slightly modify the legs on my outfeed table.

Rick Gifford
04-25-2008, 10:33 PM
That tractor makes a great mobile base! Might see a new fashion started now.