View Full Version : Best way to apply carnauba wax?

John Pennisi
04-25-2008, 3:50 PM
I just got some of this wax in solid form and am trying to apply it for the first time. I am finding that it is not melting easily when held to the turning work. In videos I've seen the friction cause the wax to melt, and then the melted wax was rubbed in with a cloth, all while the work was on the lathe. I believe this was the Raffan video on turning, which I'm sure many have also seen. Anyway, I'm basically new to turning but learning quickly and loving every minute of it! Any suggestions on applying wax would be great!

Barry Elder
04-25-2008, 3:56 PM
Never heard of anyone using raw carnauba unless it was applied to a buffing wheel and then to the turned piece.

Geoff Hanha
04-25-2008, 4:11 PM
Hi if its a solid stick then just press against your work and draw across the turning, you dont really see much go on as such, after that use good kitchen paper, i use one called bonce an absorbant kitchen papercloth it does not break down into bits and stick to your turning as with cheap stuff, use this to press against your turning and again draw across the friction will melt and spreed across, then you can buff with the paper cloth.carnauba wax is meant more for going over the top of another polish like a friction polish or a melimine.
Don't use cloth if you value your fingers, to easy to mess up. Geoff
http://www.shapewood.co.uk

Allen Neighbors
04-25-2008, 5:06 PM
I apply carnauba with a 100% Cotton Denim buffing wheel at 1725 rpm.

Chris Padilla
04-25-2008, 5:10 PM
Speaking from the automotive world, they use carnauba but not PURE...pure is pretty hard stuff, right? They add stuff that allows the carnauba to "melt" simply with the warmth of your hand...or perhaps a spinning piece of wood.

Dennis Ford
04-25-2008, 6:05 PM