PDA

View Full Version : Fein 8" Orbital Sander OR scrape & plane?

Doug Hobkirk
04-23-2008, 3:14 PM
I can get a Fein used vac (I don't know which model) with a used Fein 8" R O Sander for $450 from a big Corian counter business that's closed shop (they have 4 of these). I will get to touch & test before purchase.

I am just getting started in WW but I have been equipping my shop. I have a 5" Rigid ROS, a stationary 4" wide belt sanders, a Rigid oscillating spindle/belt sander, and a Makita hand 4x24 belt sander. I've used them all at least ten hours each and they are all very useful.

I would LOVE to replace my huge ear-splitting 6.5 HP Craftsman vac with something that is quieter, smaller, and auto-triggers on/off, but the seller wants to sell both as a package. Sanding always seems to take longer than I had hoped and the dust usually means I need to do a lot of cleaning myself before I can walk in the house. It seems like the excellent DC would be a huge improvement and the 8" sander would be in another league for sanding - right?

At the same time I've seen all the TV shows of David Marks, Mr. Hand-held Cabinet Scraper, and I've been spending time here on SMC with Neanderthals, devotes of smoothing planes and scrapers. I need to re-read the FWW article on this subject, but it seemed to me that sanding was still the way to go and then use a scraper to de-fuzz the surface before finishing.

I like good tools and good deals (on eBay, a new Fein Turbo I or a reconditioned Turbo II cost $250), but I temper my lusts when I can by asking advice from experienced people -
Forget the sander - scrape and plane?
Good tools, even for a serious hobbyist?
Good deal?
Anything special to look for when I test them?Thanks

Joe Jensen
04-23-2008, 4:49 PM