PDA

View Full Version : Monster Hollowing Tool Advice

Bruce Pennell
04-22-2008, 10:42 PM
I'm looking at the monster hollowing tool of Randy's. I'm new to turning and I am just starting to do bowl's, want to try hollow forms, and segmented forms. Which package would you suggest to start with? Can I start small and add to his system? I was looking at #HFLH for $490.00 That would get me the Art. arm system w/ laser, and the hand tool set-up. Like I say I'm new and have fallen for turning. I'm using a Delta 46-450 12" swing over the bed. My problem is I really don't know what I need. Called Randy today to ask,but haven't got a return call yet. I'm sure he's a busy guy. Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks for all the help, you guy's and girl's have really inspired me. Haven't turned in 30 plus years, since high school, so this is very new to me. I've been playing everyday since I got my lathe, picked up a few new tools (was well supplied with spindle tools), joined a turning club SAZWA's (http://www.sazwa.org/). Using a super nova 2 chuck, very nice, read about Nova, One Way, and Vicmark chucks here. From what I've read Randys Hollowing System seems very well liked. Thanks for all the reviews, Bernie, Steve, Burt and Bill. Thanks to everyone Sawmill sure makes learning fun.

Don Eddard
04-23-2008, 5:36 AM
I'm guessing you mean Randy? He's a busy guy but he's got great products. The HFLH would be a great setup that would keep you knee deep in shavings for a long time, and the price is hard to beat, when you figure all the tools you get for that.

Randy Privett
04-23-2008, 5:57 AM
Bruce,

I received your message, but when I went to replay it, somehow it was deleted. Duh, have to be smarter than the machine. Call back today and we'll talk.

Randy

Bruce Pennell
04-23-2008, 6:54 AM
Thanks Randy I don't know where I got Rick from. Thanks Don for your advice.

Burt Alcantara
04-23-2008, 8:35 AM
Bruce,