PDA

View Full Version : Woodworking school

Ray Schafer
04-21-2008, 5:13 PM
In about 20 months, I turn 50. For my 50th birthday, my wife wants me to do something special ... so I chose going to a week-long woodworking / furniture building school. so here is the question:

If you could go to any woodworking/furniture school, which one would you attend? I am in Denver, and given two equally attractive schools, I would go to the closer.

I have been doing a little bit of woodworking for the past 5 years, and so have gotten many basic skills. That means I would not want a beginners class, but instead, I want something that will push me to the limits of my abilities. I hope/plan to attend some classes at the Red Rocks School of fine Woodworking between now and then. That should help me improve upon my basic skills so that I am ready for a real challenge by the time I have my magic birthday.

Brodie Brickey
04-21-2008, 6:00 PM
Ray,

What do you want to build or produce?

As an example, if you wanted to do chairs of a particular type, that would be a better aim than any one particular school. I think that there are a number of good schools for woodworking, but choosing the right class is as much about your desires as anything else like a skill set.

I think those Chippendale cabinets are awesome, but I have no really interest in producing one, and my house wouldn't be able to hold it...now a Maloof style rocker is another story.

Larry Browning
04-21-2008, 6:02 PM
What a great birthday present! I think I might ask for the same thing on my 60th. I have no suggestions, but I will be following this thread to to see what the recommendations are!

Dick Sylvan
04-21-2008, 6:07 PM
I have taken two courses from Lonnie Bird (he is in eastern TN near Knoxville) and thoroughly enjoyed them and getting to know Lonnie.

Dewey Torres
04-21-2008, 6:15 PM
http://www.djmarks.com/classes.asp

Would be my first pick. I took a class back in Feb and it was hands down the best IMHO.

Dewey