View Full Version : Lack of power, skill or both?

Joe Van Norman
04-21-2008, 10:08 AM
I'm still new to turning and have just learned how to put a consistant grind on my bowl gouge. I've been turning dry firewood.

This past week I obtained a 7" diameter green (soaking wet) log of crab apple. I've cut out two 6" diameter bowl blanks. When I put one on my lathe (Wilton 99177) I found that unless I take very small cuts (about 1/32" wide shavings), the lathe bogs down to a complete stop.

Am I asking too much of the lathe or should the 2/5 HP motor be able to handle turning a bowl from a 6x4" blank?

Steve Schlumpf
04-21-2008, 10:24 AM
Joe - just based on the info you provided - it sure sounds like your lathe is at fault. I would think it should be able to turn the wood - have you checked the belt tension?

By the way - Welcome to the Creek! Hopefully we'll get someone who has first hand knowledge of your lathe to check in and help out. Best of luck - keep us informed!

Barry Elder
04-21-2008, 10:29 AM
Not enough HP, Joe. Don't know where you are, but you could check the AAW site and find out where the nearest turning club is and maybe find out that one of your neighbors is a turner. Quickest way to learn is hands-on. Next would be a DVD. Some of the you tube videos are first-rate also.

Norm Zax
04-21-2008, 10:47 AM
Happens to me from time to time when the headstock's bite dissappears. If you're using a regular 2 or 4 spur drive center and it is slipping, simply remove from lath, give it a good pounding and return back to position.

Joe Van Norman
04-21-2008, 12:13 PM
I was using a Nova Midi chuck. I used a 4 spur drive until I had a tennon for the chuck.

I am a member of the Badger Woodturner's club. When turning with their sharpened bowl gouges, I have not boged down the floor model Jet lathes.

Scott Lux
04-21-2008, 12:16 PM