PDA

View Full Version : Sealing Wood

Bob Akers
04-20-2008, 12:26 AM
Hi all, hope everyone is doing well!
I'm new to the sign / plaque business. I'm having trouble sealing the wood after engraving so the paint won't bleed out of the engraved letters.
I'm using clear pine at the present and have tried the following;
Shellac thinned 50 / 50 alcohol
Rattle can clear sealer
After sealer has dried 24 hrs, I then spray color of choice (mostly black)
let dry (24 hrs) then sand 60 grit ROS.
Just can not produce what I think I'm capable of. Good looking, but not
great.
What is the product / procedure of choice?
Thanks for any help!!
Bob

Steve Schoene
04-20-2008, 6:41 AM
I''m not quite sure I understand what your problem is--where the bleeding enters in. Here's what I think I understand, and some questions I still have.

You engrave letters into the wood. What process, and how smooth is the surface?

Then you have tried to seal the wood using either shellac or a aerosol product of some sort. Shellac thinned 50-50 is very thin indeed. If you used Seal Coat it is only a little over .8 pound cut, and about 1.2 pound cut if you started with Amber or Clear Zinsser shellacs.

Then you spray paint into the letters. What kind? Brand and specific variety.

After the paint has dried you sand the surface with very coarse sand paper on an ROS. Why 60 grit?

At this point you aren't happy with the results. Here's where I really get confused. "Bleeding" suggests that the paint hasn't cured -- is that what you mean? Alternatively perhaps you mean that the paint has spread into the grain of the wood before drying and when you sand off the surface it leaves a "fuzzy" appearance? Is either interpretation correct?

Mike Null
04-20-2008, 7:50 AM
Steve