PDA

View Full Version : Thank your teacher !!!

Mark Valsi
04-17-2008, 5:53 PM
I just read thru the thread about who was your favorite teacher.

I was a Junior High teacher for 36 years, mostly drafting, but after that program was cancelled, I was a history and math teacher. Now I'm a some time substitute teacher in the local High School. Many of the students I have are sons and daughters of former students. The principal is a former student as is the coucillor and a couple of the teachers.

Please, if you had a good or great teacher in the past, look them up and thank them ! You can't believe how good it makes an old teacher hear some kind words from a former student. Really "makes my day"

Judy Kingery
04-17-2008, 6:07 PM
Mark, amen to that, absolutely! Other day a girl said 'hey, I remember you, you came and taught during the Sex Ed classes on date rape awareness, wow, cool.' I said, oh, well thank you! She told me when she graduated high-school and I said yep, that'd have been me, I did that for 25 years. Made my day she'd remember that class and that she's doing fine now.

Anyway - now I just sub for Sex Ed, too. So from one teacher to another, thank you, Mark, for what you did and do on behalf of children, best to ya, bud! Jude

Greg Cole
04-17-2008, 6:20 PM
Mark,
I took a few strolls down memory lane yesterday after the shop teacher thread..... oddly enough my eldest sister was asking me some questions about composing some verbs in French yesterday too. Amazingly enough I did quite well using a language I hadn't used in 10 years.
One thing leads to another, and I was thinking about the French teacher I had all through HS, Mr Gimachello. I learned French very easily and Mr G was a big reason for that, simply b/c I liked the man now that I look back.