PDA

View Full Version : Beginner guide to making a zero clearance insert

Derek Larson
04-16-2008, 11:29 AM
Ok I did a quick search on the forums but did not see a guide on this (although I am sure I just over looked it). I just happened to stumble across a guide to making a zero clearance TS insert, it then dawned on me how simple it is. Now I am very new to woodworking but I thought I would share this with other beginners. The problem I had figuring out was how to cut the insert to the exact same oval shape as the factory insert.

Start with plywood or stock that will sit flush with the table top ( in this guide they used 1/2" plywood) then with carpet tape, tape the factory insert to the plywood and trace the shape.
Next Rough cut the plywood with a bandsaw or jig saw.
Next Tape the factory insert back on and use a flush-trim router bit to trace cut the shape of the insert
And you should have an exact replica of the factory insert.
What I will do is cut the blade slot so it goes almost all the way out the back then I will glue a piece of wood that will stick up in the back to act as a splitter (not sure if there is a better way).

Anyway it is very simple and I feel stupid for not being able to figure that out on my own, it was very obvious.

Greg Cole
04-16-2008, 11:42 AM
Ba-da-boom ba-da-bing.
FWIW, I have some made for various width dado's too. Handy dandy as all heck.
Don't forget to make a few for the miter saw if ya have one too. I seem to replace those more often with all the bevel cuts etc.
That method works for replicating many shapes.;)

Greg

Prashun Patel
04-16-2008, 11:45 AM
That's not stupid. That's smart. Especially the part abt the splitter. Lots of people don't go the xtra step to put one on.

Make sure the splitter is 100% parallel to the blade else it'll draw the piece either toward or away from the fence, which can cause the the workpiece to contact the side of the blade and kickback or bind.