PDA

View Full Version : Worthwhile to advertise Woodworking on Craigslist?

Andy Pratt
04-14-2008, 2:12 PM
I'm just starting out as a functional business, learning the trade while I still have a regular job in preparation for doing it full time in about a year. I'll be moving in a year and don't want to spend money on "real" advertising in my current location. As such, I've been keeping constant posts on Craigslist in the hopes of drumming up some business and learning how to deal with customers.

So far, I have had numerous inquiries, some detailed and serious, none of which have panned out into actually starting construction on a project. I've been primarily communicating by email, and discourse usually breaks off around the point where I offer a detailed estimate/plan for the project. Often this occurs after some serious investment of time on my part to obtain&plan for the details necessary to make an accurate quote. I give them a ballpark up front, so that's probably not the issue.

I'm wondering if, by the nature of Craigslist it's just a bad place to be hoping to drum up woodworking business. Since we all go there hoping to find pretty good deals, is it unrealistic to hope for custom woodworking business through this site? It seems like so far, once I help people work out an intelligent plan for their project, they take off with the idea and I get nothing in return. Also, I've yet to get a request for a fine-quality project, always just functional level plywood or MDF stuff. Any thoughts on if I should continue to bother posting every week?

Thanks,
Andy

Paul Johnstone
04-14-2008, 2:33 PM
. Any thoughts on if I should continue to bother posting every week?