PDA

View Full Version : Help! I really did it this time.

Bob Sanders
04-14-2008, 9:04 AM
Well, as some of you know... I am new to this finishing thing. I was in here a week or so ago asking about stains and finish coats, but I made a big mistake on it this weekend!

Its been about 60 degrees for a while here, but this weekend when I was planning on putting lacquer on my desk in the garage, it dipped down to about 40. Right now you are probably thinking "oh no, he didn't!", but alas... yes, I did. Unfortunately I didn't know that lacquer needs to be warm to spread out and even out on the surface, and because of this, I applied it when the desk and garage was at about 45 degrees. Needless to say, the first coat went on horrible, the second coat went on horrible, and the third coat went on horrible. By the time I got done sanding the bubbles and thick spots out, I had sanded right through the stain in 4-5 spots on the top of the desk.

Yeah, I was pretty depressed all day Saturday.

Anyway, I've collected myself, and am starting to look for solutions. The obvious answer would be to sand the entire top down again and start over... but there is one problem. Since the top is made out of cherry plywood, and has only a thin veneer top surface, I am very concerned about sanding too far and going right through the veneer effectively ruining the table top and forcing me to spend another $100 on a piece of plywood! This is not something I can do. The other problem I can see coming of this, and really sort of the same problem, is whether or not sanding down to the surface will get rid of the lacquer or not. I am worried (since I have never done this before) that If I sand it all down perfectly to the wood, and don't go through the veneer, that there will still be lacquer residue on the wood and the new coat of stain won't stick in spots.