PDA

View Full Version : What type of plane did I buy?

Ben Martin
04-12-2008, 8:32 PM
Well, being a newb I decided to wander over to eBay and look through the auctions. I found a plane that looked to be in good shape, that I could put back into good working order and learn the neander way. I think it is a Stanley-Bailey No. 5 1/2, but the auction didn't list the type. My question is, what did I buy? :D

(I got if for $9.99, I was expecting to be outbid, so don't shoot me down if it isn't a good plane)

Mike Henderson
04-12-2008, 8:39 PM
I can't tell much from the pictures but it definitely isn't a 5 1/2. A 5 1/2 is much larger. This one is more like a #3 or a #4.

Mike

Ben Martin
04-12-2008, 8:41 PM
I can't tell much from the pictures but it definitely isn't a 5 1/2. A 5 1/2 is much larger. This one is more like a #3 or a #4.

Mike

Yeah, I was just looking at some more pictures of them, it appears to be smaller than a 5...

Phillip Pattee
04-12-2008, 9:51 PM
It looks like a stanley no 3. to me. Probably a type 10 or 11 given the diameter of the brass knob. Does it have any numbers or dates on it? Can you give us the width and length? Any of this data would help. You can also check it your self at the Woodworking at Rexmill site http://www.rexmill.com/ or at http://www.hyperkitten.com/tools/stanley_bench_plane/dating/main.html

Jim Andrew
04-12-2008, 10:32 PM
Looks like a nice plane, you must have made a good buy. Nothing like getting good tools at a good price. Jim

Grant Vanbokklen
04-12-2008, 10:53 PM
I'm new to hand planes but that lateral adjuster looks like a Union to me.
Thanks to links like this one: http://www.brasscityrecords.com/toolworks/graphics/plane%20id.html

Jim Mims
04-12-2008, 11:17 PM
Sorry I can't help but I just did the same thing.
I got mine for $5.95. I guess those more knowledgeable (and who knew what to look for), weren't bidding.
I'll probably be asking the same question myself when I get it next week and can't figure out what I've got.