PDA

View Full Version : Trouble With Inside Corners and Tiny Spaces

Paul Fitzgerald
04-12-2008, 3:25 PM
I've been working on putting the finish on this candle centerpiece from a recent Woodsmith Magazine and I'm having a bit of trouble. Keep in mind that this is my first attempt at finishing with these products.

After final sanding I applied a coat of Clear Seal-A-Cell with a brush, let it soak in, wiped off the excess and let it dry. Once dry I buffed everything with 0000 steel wool. That seemed to go very well and without issues.

The first coat of Gloss Arm-R-Seal was a disaster. I tried to put it on thin, but the inside corners and the 1/8" gap down the middle gave me fits and resulted in runs and drips on the underside that I couldn't see or do anything about until after it dried. I also had trouble getting a smooth coat because it became tacky so quickly and it was difficult to navigate around all the corners and the holes.

So after it dried I went over the whole thing again with 0000 steel wool and tried to get rid of the imperfections. It's okay at the moment... I suppose.

I can only assume that I'm doing something (or many things) wrong since I don't really know what I'm doing. :D Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Paul

Joe Chritz
04-12-2008, 3:50 PM
You picked a good one for a first time try. The little spaces make things much more difficult, like I needed to tell you that.

Arm R Seal is a wipe on varnish and if you are getting runs you are putting it on to heavy. It should go on "like a busboy at Denny's" to quote someone who I forgot. It is still be best analogy for wiping on a finish I have heard.

You just have to get all the spots and give it a final quick wipe and leave it. Knock off the nibs, wash, rinse, repeat until you get what you are after for a finish.

The good news is that the little spots inside probably don't need much protection so any light coat will be fine.

Nice looking piece by the way.

Joe

Mike Berndt
04-12-2008, 3:52 PM