PDA

View Full Version : buying laser (here we go again )

Bjorn storoien
04-11-2008, 4:46 PM
Hi

I am new to this forum and i am new to lasers

I am having a hard time trying to choose between Laserpro spirit and Universal pls 460 both 40 w

I have read all treads i could find aboat the subject but im still confused

Anyone with a Universal pls460 or similar that can help me with some questions

Bjorn

Norway

Mike Mackenzie
04-11-2008, 6:41 PM
Bjorn,

What would you like to know?

Scott Shepherd
04-11-2008, 8:35 PM
I have the PLS4.60 and can try and answer any questions about it as well.

Bjorn storoien
04-12-2008, 2:07 AM
Some of my questions are maybe general to all lasers

will there be horisontal lines engraving acrylic even on highest resolution ?

Laserpro says its unavoidable Universal sales rep says that i should get a sandblasted finish without lines

Bjorn

Rodne Gold
04-12-2008, 2:27 AM
No matter what laser you buy , you will get a ridged engraving IF YOU GO DEEP!!!!!!!!
If you engrave normally , ie with little depth , you will get better than a sandblast finish.
I have 3 explorers and 3 spirits , the explorers were problematic , the spirits are wonderful ultra relaible machines.
Go with the machine where you have the nearest and best support if both are similar and do what you want em to. All mainstream lasers in the same price/power/size class are basically alike. Merc or beemer, ford or chev, honda or toyota.......

Bjorn storoien
04-12-2008, 2:53 AM
Hi

It is not deep and the lines/ridges are stronger in parts of the lettering !

It almost looks like the power level has changed during engraving .

I get a feeling that the laserpro rep isnt the expert he claims to be :)

He also had a problem vector cutting rowmark lasermax Black/white with an acceptable result

Bjorn

Rodne Gold
04-12-2008, 3:14 AM