PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Acrylic letters - Help?

Ted DeRuyter
04-10-2008, 5:11 PM
I having been cutting 1/8", 1/4", & 3/8" acrylic letters on my Epilog 75 watt laser for a customer. They are asking if I can get a more "polished" edge. The edge looks "jewel" like (faceted), but has distinct lines in it from what looks like the laser pulsing action. Since I am fairly new to this, I am not sure if this is normal or If I should be getting a much smoother finish on the edge. I am using 20 speed, 100 power and 5000 ppi on the 1/8" material. on the 1/4", I am using 16 S, 100P & 5000ppi but with 2 passes. The 3/8" is 10 S, 100P & 5000ppi with 2 passes. I also use a conical air assist for all vector cutting.

The other issue is that the acrylic sheet has a 3M adhesive layer on the bottom. When the letters are cut it appears that the adhesive is creeping up the sides of the letters causing the edges to be sticky.:(

Does anyone have any insights on how to improve the quality of the laser cut edges? Any insights on eliminating the adhesive from creeping up the edges?

Also any insights on how to speed up the total cuttings process would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance for all you help! :)

Joe Pelonio
04-10-2008, 5:19 PM
I do a lot of these on my 45 watt, and it's sounds like you are going too slow.

My edges have what might be considered almost microscopic vertical lines on the edges but only on hard curves where it goes slower. Straight lines and gentle curves are more like flame polished.

Lets' compare 1/4". I use settings 100 power, 8 speed and 5000 frequency.
My manual says 6-100-5000 but faster is cleaner.

That's one pass. With 75 watts you should be able to go faster and do it in one pass, unless something is wrong.

I also will use 3m laminating film such as 468MP, which most always cuts cleanly through. Once in a while a letter will have that liner perforated here and there so I turn it over and hit it with an xacto or utility knife.

Scott Shepherd