PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone have the Turncrafter Pro Variable Speed Midi Lathe Kit?

Tim Dorcas
04-09-2008, 11:59 PM
I have been doing woodworking for about 3 years making boxes, furniture, and cabinets. I have been holding off on getting a lathe because I thought I would REALLY like it and I have already spend so much money on the tools I have now. But after watching a friend make a few pens I think I'm hooked. I promised my wife that I would hold on the purchase of anything new but she has recently said I could spend (roughly) $500 to get the gear necessary to start making pens and small bowls.

I have been looking on the Penn State Industries site and they have a kit that includes everything. So I have a few questions.

Has anyone else purchased this set?

Will it get me by for awhile (a year at least)?

Does it require the purchase of anything else?

Should I get a different lathe and get just the pen making kit without the lathe?

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Keep in mind I have a budget. I have looked around and have yet to find a decent used lathe (in Canada) so that doesn't appear to be an option.

What would you do? How would you spend the money?

Tim

Bill Dunn jr
04-10-2008, 7:22 AM
Tim, I got the Delta Midi with the pen turning kit for under $300 at Woodcraft a couple of years ago . If your anything like me the material they give you will not last long. I got some free material from cabinet shop scraps and hardwood floor installers. I also get a large amount of Corian scraps from a local counter top guy. Every once in a while I will make a couple of pens for them as a thank you.

I found the whole process somewhat addicting..Have Fun

Wayne Bitting
04-10-2008, 10:17 AM