PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Pepper/Salt Mills to Sell

Matt Hutchinson
04-09-2008, 3:44 PM
I have not tried to sell my turnings out of a booth before. This summer I have an opportunity to sell at a booth every weekend. I was thinking that functional items would be good for this particular market. If a quality pepper/salt mill grinding mechanism is $13 for one, will people really buy a set for $45 and up?? What difference is there between the cheap hardware and the more expensive hardware? At what price do you sell your mills? Thanks.

Hutch

Bob Hallowell
04-09-2008, 4:25 PM
I use the stainless steel for pepper and I price depending on the wood and how much I like it. I sell 12" from $100 to $150 in rural Pa. Some are turned off by the price other look at it as art on there counter top. Here's a set I made my wife. I would of charged $250 for this set. They are 12" and 11" in size.

Bob

Russ Sears
04-09-2008, 4:47 PM
Bob, those are stunning. I'm just getting into turning and I'm curious if you don't mind me asking: are you getting those prices at shows/craft fairs? a retail store?

Bernie Weishapl
04-09-2008, 5:20 PM
Matt I can't get what Bob is and wish I could. I get $65 and up for a salt/pepper mill depending on the wood.

Kurt Bird
04-09-2008, 5:39 PM
Matt,
My pricing is $75 for a single, non-exotic wood, like walnut, mahogany, etc. The pricing goes up for single exotic woods thru about $110. Then, for laminated or fancy combos, it can range up to $165. Remember, if you buy the wood for $10, add $13 for the mechanism, spend 45 minutes to 1.5 hours to make the item, and hope to earn at least $20-30 per hour for your time, and want to make a little profit, too... It's all in what you think you need, and then you can start to find out what people will pay. Shoot for some craft fairs that are a little bigger, a little more attended, and I think you can probably charge similar prices.
Kurt

Bob Hallowell
04-09-2008, 6:19 PM