PDA

View Full Version : Plywood chair mat

Jason Koon
04-09-2008, 2:13 PM
I make my living as a software developer, so I spend a lot of time at my computer. I'm pretty unhappy with the plastic chair mats available at places like office depot etc. I've also been unsuccessful in finding something like glass or rigid plastic to fill the role. So the thought occurred to me to use some 3/4" plywood.

Has anyone done something like this? Do you think the plywood would hold up well? I've thought about covering it in something like wilsonart etc. Maybe putting on a 1" hard wood border to dress the edge.

Thanks,
Jason

Michael Wildt
04-09-2008, 4:20 PM
What is the chair mat on top off ? carpet ?

I'd take the plywood as a sub floor and then put some pergo on top. Add an edge and you should be all set.

Michael

Jason Koon
04-09-2008, 6:06 PM
It's on top of some fairly deep carpet. I like the idea of putting some flooring on top.. I'll look into that.

J D Thomas
04-12-2008, 9:07 AM
Jason,

Like you, I became frustrated many years ago with those cheap plastic chair mats for my studio in Burbank CA. I went thru a couple and they started cracking after less than a month, and this was on fairly deep carpeting. Those plastics pieces hurt too!! I called around to see if anyone offered anything better, preferably made from wood, and I found a place in downtown Los Angeles that made them, but they wanted $650 for the size I was looking for.

But all was not lost. I got the idea to build my own, using parquet oak tiles from the borg. Here's a pic of the finished product:

http://www.thomastudios.com/images/Woodworking/chairmat.jpg