PDA

View Full Version : jointer plane -- which one?

Joel Goodman
04-09-2008, 12:20 PM
I have the low angle jack from LN (which I like a lot) and would like to get a jointer plane. My choices are the low angle jointer from LN (which now has adj mouth); the low angle jointer from LV, or an old Stanley. The LN and LV are about the same price as I can get the LN discounted (from fine tool journal). The "bedrock" style LN is out of my price range. Does anyone have experience with the LN version? The LV does offer a guide but I think I could build a jig for the LN if I needed one. I'm a little leery of an old Stanley ---if it needs to have the sole lapped that's a lot of iron. Would love some feedback from the experts -- Thanks!

Ken Werner
04-09-2008, 1:30 PM
Let me begin with - I am no expert. Having said that, I do not think a perfectly flat bottom is critical on a jointer. In the interest of economy and value, I'd suggest you start with an old [Stanley, Record, Sargent, Union etc] No. 7 or 8. They are not too pricey - like $100 or less. And can do a very respectable job to get you going. You can always sell it and upgrade later. You might check with Clint Jones here and see if he's got one for you.

Good luck,
Ken

Jack Camillo
04-09-2008, 2:11 PM
2 cents. If you can afford a nice, new one that'll last as long as you and much longer, why buy old and try to sell and upgrade later? Get the new one, get used to it, and put it to work for you. I'd venture to say you (or anyone) would be more than happy with either the LN or LV, both outstanding planes. Look at pictures side by side, and go with the one that looks better to you at that moment. No one can decide that for you. Only other, and best option is to wait for a show in your area where both are represented and feel them in your hands.

John Dykes
04-09-2008, 2:27 PM
Using old tools adds a lot of very wonderful and unique enjoyment to my woodworking that I'm glad I was poor enough to stumble into...