PDA

View Full Version : ever heard of this DC unit?

Patrick Melchior
04-08-2008, 2:42 PM
http://www.jdstools.com/index.asp?PageAction=Custom&ID=47

I have not heard this name thrown around the forum. I wass just wondering if anyone has any first hand knowledge.

thank you

Mark Engel
04-08-2008, 3:22 PM
I have heard of this company (JDS)before. I have been using their Accu-Miter for many years. I did not know about these new cyclone units.

I went ahead and called to find out their prices. The 2hp unit is $1095 and the 3hp unit is $1595. Shipping charge to the east coast is $125.00. JDS is in South Carolina. You can pick these up at the warehouse to save the shipping cost, you will be charged SC sales tax.

Thom Sturgill
04-08-2008, 3:50 PM
I saw them listed on Woodcraft's web site, the 3hp unit lists for $1699.

Mark Engel
04-08-2008, 4:02 PM
I think the one listed on the Woodcraft site is the old model. The new models just came out about a month ago, according to the person I spoke to at JDS.

Here is a link to the new 3hp unit:

http://www.jdstools.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=27

glenn bradley
04-08-2008, 4:07 PM
They have been around for awhile. Woodcraft and others sell them. They are in the middle of the pack in most comparisons. The 3HP has an amazingly flat curve but I do not know if this is particularly good or not.

The new units look really well designed and bring portability to the cyclone arena (along with Oneida). Their ambient cleaner has won the bake-offs in a couple of mags. I have seen the single stage units and they appear well made.

Like you, I am curious because no one seems to mention them on the forums. Maybe they just work so well, no one notices them(?). Maybe there is something we should know and not many folks have them(?). I'll be interested to hear.

Dan Lee
04-08-2008, 6:25 PM