PDA

View Full Version : Dead compressor--fix/replace?

Tony Sade
04-07-2008, 2:59 PM
My bought-at-Lowe's DeVilbiss 5hp/20 gal oil-free compressor died over the weekend. Worked one day, didn't the next. I can hear something straining to move and the lights in the shop on the same circuit dim considerably when I flip the switch. (I have a dedicated circuit for the compressor; the dimming occured when I moved the thing out from its normal resting place and tried it at a different location.)

Any likely cause that comes to mind based on such little information-anything that tends to go wrong with these? Anything a DIYer can try on his own?

Any recommendations for a replacement? I'm a hobbyist so it will get light use. I use nail guns/pinners/staplers; fill tires; and use a HVLP conversion gun for finishing. Given my small garage shop setup, it really needs to be one of those that looks like a wagon-wheels on the back, handle in front, tank rests horizontally-or something with a similar footprint. The compressor sits under a table which holds my dust collector with a canister that almost hits the ceiling. There's no place else to put it. I really can't spend more than $400 (without having to sleep in the shop).

Thanks,

Don Bergren
04-07-2008, 3:32 PM
Any likely cause that comes to mind based on such little information-anything that tends to go wrong with these? Anything a DIYer can try on his own?

I have a Craftsman (DeVilbiss) that developed a similar sounding problem. The lever you flip to turn the compressor on and off also dumps some air each time so the compressor will start with no head pressure. On mine, that valve was not dumping the air so when I turned it on it just strained to start and I turned it off.