PDA

View Full Version : Lee Valley LAS or BUS

Yolanda Kirkland
04-06-2008, 11:57 PM
Hi, this is my first posting to SMC. I have been visiting this site for a couple of months now and I have really learned a lot. I am getting started in woodworking and have taken a couple of classes at Woodcraft; which I have enjoyed quite a bit. Actually the box class I took at Woodcraft got me hooked on this woodworking hobby. I have went on a tool buying binge. I so far have the Ridgid 2400 tablesaw and the ridgid jointer and planer. All were bought on sale. :D But my problem is that I want the power tools for the speed but I would also like to build some projects using mostly handtools. Hopefully getting rid of the power tools maybe all together. I don't know about getting rid of the Tablesaw though.

After taking a handplane class at Woodcraft, I purchased the LN adjustable mouth block plane, which I love. But, I think I may have made a mistake this weekend at the Houston Woodworking show. I ordered a Veritas LA Jack plane and a Veritas LA Smooth Plane. After reading the threads here, I think maybe I should have gotten the Bevel up Smoother plane instead of the LA Smooth plane. I want something that can get a great final finish, so I won't have to do to much sanding. Should I have gotten the BUS or did I do the right thing with the LAS and the Jack Plane?

I will be making mostly boxes and small pieces of furniture, i.e., end tables, small coffee tables, bookcases, once I get good enough.

Lastly, I was thinking that a good start on handplanes would be the following:

LV LA Jack Plane
LAS or BUS plane
shoulder plane
adjustable mouth block plane

Am I on the right track? Can I do the projects I want with just this four planes? Remember the I'm deciding between the LAS and the BUS from Lee Valley.