PDA

View Full Version : Shaker Dresser

Dave Avery
04-06-2008, 3:14 PM
All,

Finally finished a dresser I've been working on (and off) for about two years. The design is slightly modified from Woodsmith. The top, sides, and drawer fronts are made from figured cherry veneer. MDF is the substrate. The contrasting wood and base is cocobolo. Drawers are made from curly spalted maple. The drawer pulls are hand-hammered weathered brass - and cost more than the materials for the rest of the project combined :(

Cabinet and drawer construction was done with the Festool Domino, something I'd use again for the cabinet but probably not for the drawers. First time using non-mechanical drawer slides, which went pretty easily.

Finish is shellac followed by Bartley's gel varnish. The top also got Beall polishing componds and wax buffed on with my Festool Rotex.

Altogether, a very satisfying project. Thanks for looking. Best. Dave.

Duncan Potter
04-06-2008, 3:41 PM
Very impressive. I like the simple straightforward style and the mix of woods.

As a newbie who has been shying away from drawers, I look forward to the day when I feel I can tackle a job like that.

One minor complaint...you posted pics, but I need BIGGER pics! :p

Matt Crew
04-06-2008, 3:59 PM
Very, very nice work.
Two years, you work very methodically like me.
At least thats what I tell my wife.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-06-2008, 4:32 PM
Nicely done Dave!

Joe Mioux
04-06-2008, 4:39 PM
Congrats on a successful project. It looks wonderful

joe

Peter Quinn
04-06-2008, 4:44 PM
Wow...BEAUTIFUL!

Ron Jones near Indy
04-06-2008, 4:54 PM
Very nice Dave! Are matching pieces planned in the future?

Dave Verstraete
04-06-2008, 5:04 PM
GREAT Job! Beautiful! You need to spend more time at your hobby though.

Dave Avery
04-06-2008, 8:16 PM
Very impressive. I like the simple straightforward style and the mix of woods.