PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly Bandsaw

Clint Hood
04-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Hey guys, I'm new to wood working/turning, and working on buying myself some tools....At the moment, all I make are turkey calls, but I'm looking to branch out to crow calls, owl hooters, and deer grunts pretty soon....

I'm needing a bandsaw, and found this one by Grizzly for a pretty good price....
http://www.grizzly.com/products/G0555

Anybody have any experience with one of these? Just wanted to know if it was worth the money, or do you guys suggest another brand? I plan to use this saw to cut out the 4" round blanks for the turkey calls, which I don't forsee being a problem....However, I also plan to get the 6" extension block kit, which will be used to saw log pieces down to 1 1/2" boards that will be used to get blanks and strikers out of....To give you an idea what I'm talking about, here's a pic.....
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t314/gobblerhitman/003-4.jpg
These are about 3' long.....Do you guys think this saw can handle this chore? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I am a greenhorn when it comes to this stuff....Thanks in advance for any help!

Lance Norris
04-06-2008, 12:37 PM
Clint... the Grizzly 555 is a good saw. Many people here give it good comments. It should do anything you need it to do with the correct blade. Have you looked at the 555x? Its almost $200 more, which may take it out of your budget, but offers many nice upgrades.

Bruce Pennell
04-06-2008, 3:49 PM