PDA

View Full Version : Pressure Treated Wood?

Gary and Jessica Houghton
04-05-2008, 11:29 AM
I have a customer that wants something engraved on pressure treated wood. Can this be done? I ask because of the toxic nature of the treated wood. I would hate to fry my laser with only $10 profit.
Thanks!

James Stokes
04-05-2008, 12:43 PM
Yes it can be done. I think people get to concerned about damaging their lasers. I do not think there is any thing out there that will instantly fry a laser. I have been playing with lasers since 2000 and there are not many things I have not tried to laser.

Steven Smith
04-05-2008, 12:47 PM
I have a customer that wants something engraved on pressure treated wood. Can this be done? I ask because of the toxic nature of the treated wood. I would hate to fry my laser with only $10 profit.
Thanks!

I wouldn't touch it for ten times that price. I'm more worried about the toxicity than damage to my laser.

Rodne Gold
04-05-2008, 1:00 PM
Pressure-treated wood should not be burned under any circumstances.
Other products that are on the do-not-burn list are plywood, particleboard, chipboard and painted or finished wood. To be fair, there was one government study that did not find any more toxicity in the smoke from pressure-treated wood than from regular wood. The ash, though, was definitely more toxic, because the arsenic does not burn off. So you wouldn't want to add this ash to soil or your compost heap. All of us who have heated their homes with wood know how the ash is everywhere and on everything!

from
http://www.naturalhandyman.com/iip/infxtra/infpre.html

Up to you...for $10 I'd tell him no.

Gary and Jessica Houghton
04-05-2008, 1:08 PM
Thanks so much for all of your imput. I will try and persuade my customer to use something else.

Kim Vellore
04-05-2008, 1:11 PM