PDA

View Full Version : Best Jack Plane under $100

Doug Hobkirk
04-04-2008, 8:43 PM
Good day, all you Neanderthals -

I'm a novice at your game and I need some help. I just ordered a Hong Kong style smoothing plane from Lee Valley. Now I want a credible Jack Plane (I have a modern Stanley that attaches the handle with only one bolt - it doesn't feel good at all).

Maybe I will get serious enough that I will buy a Lie-Nielsen some day, but for now I would like a good plane that works well without busting my wallet.

My research so far seems to suggest that a Stanley #5 from around 1940-1950 with a Lie-Nielsen or Hock blade should meet my needs. But is that right? What about earlier? What about other brands? What about...

Thanks.

David White II
04-04-2008, 8:52 PM
What is it you don't like about the Stanley? Just the feel? Or is it lacking in performance as well. What are you using it for? I'd guess an older Stanley #5 would be an improvement even without a blade upgrade, but sharpening seems to make the biggest difference in performance for me.

Glenn Shotwell
04-04-2008, 10:10 PM
I want a credible Jack Plane (I have a modern Stanley that attaches the handle with only one bolt - it doesn't feel good at all).

I would like a good plane that works well without busting my wallet.

My research so far seems to suggest that a Stanley #5 from around 1940-1950 with a Lie-Nielsen or Hock blade should meet my needs. But is that right? What about earlier? What about other brands? What about...

Doug,
I'm a newb to planes too, other than power and block planes. In my reading here I seemed to sense that the type 11 (low knob, small adjuster, three patents) was a favorite. This site https://home.comcast.net/~stanleyplanes/planes101/typing/typing.htm helped me understand what I was looking for.