PDA

View Full Version : identify this plane (pics)

Glenn Shotwell
04-03-2008, 8:49 PM
Well I finally won an auction and I'd like help identifying the Stanley #5 plane below:

http://imagehost.vendio.com/bin/imageserver.x/00000000/iknowit/planeno5a.jpg
http://imagehost.vendio.com/bin/imageserver.x/00000000/iknowit/planeno5aa.jpg
http://imagehost.vendio.com/bin/imageserver.x/00000000/iknowit/planeno5aaaa.jpg
http://imagehost.vendio.com/bin/imageserver.x/00000000/iknowit/planeno5aaa.jpghttp://imagehost.vendio.com/bin/imageserver.x/00000000/iknowit/planeno5aaaaa.jpg

I'm new to old planes but I beleive that it is a type 11. It has 3 patents in front of the tote. Those rust spot at the front of the sole don't look too bad I hope. I'm hoping it will be a good user. My only other planes are small block planes.

Thanks,
Glenn

Billy Chambless
04-03-2008, 9:23 PM
I'm far from an expert, but I'd agree that it's a type 11 -- the adjustment knob looks like the small one.

At any rate, it's a good catch -- enjoy it!

Glenn Shotwell
04-03-2008, 9:43 PM
Thanks Billy, I don't even have it yet and I'm enjoying it!

Also I'd like opinions from anyone as to what level of restoration I should take with this plane.

Mike Henderson
04-03-2008, 9:47 PM
You didn't show the blade logo but if it has three patent dates and the V logo on the blade, it's probably a type 11 - which is a good type. Congratulations!

Mike

Glenn Shotwell
04-03-2008, 9:56 PM
Thanks Mike. With all the other features if the blade was different it could be a different type? Those are pics off the auction so I don't know yet.

Mike Henderson
04-03-2008, 11:24 PM
Thanks Mike. With all the other features if the blade was different it could be a different type? Those are pics off the auction so I don't know yet.