PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new dewalt 735 planer any thoughts?

Jeff Dunlap
04-03-2008, 5:25 PM
The Local lowes has the dewalt 735 on sale for 466.65 This is about the top of my budget. My question is, given the mixed reviews i see on some websites about cheap aluminum or plastic parts, knive durability, is this planer worth it. I'll give some backgroud as i know people have differetn needs form products. I am new to woodworking this will be my first planer, i will probably run rough cut lumber or smooth lumber no reclaimed lumber and i don't see myself running a whole lot of lumber a few hundred board feet a year. Any help would greatly be apperciated.
Jeff

Jason Beam
04-03-2008, 5:39 PM
That's not a great deal on that planer, IMHO. Count on needing the feed tables, for sure. I don't know if it comes with a dust shroud, but count on that, too. That's almost another $100 on top of your $466.

I think you'd be better served with the 734. It comes with tables and the dust shroud already and I'd say it's a better value. 735 owners tend to either love or hate their machines. I haven't met many 734 owners that are at all dissatisfied.

Bruce Benjamin
04-03-2008, 6:09 PM
The Local lowes has the dewalt 735 on sale for 466.65 This is about the top of my budget. My question is, given the mixed reviews i see on some websites about cheap aluminum or plastic parts, knive durability, is this planer worth it. I'll give some backgroud as i know people have differetn needs form products. I am new to woodworking this will be my first planer, i will probably run rough cut lumber or smooth lumber no reclaimed lumber and i don't see myself running a whole lot of lumber a few hundred board feet a year. Any help would greatly be apperciated.
Jeff