PDA

View Full Version : How much blade wobble is OK?

Bill Reed
04-03-2008, 12:04 PM
Having bought a set of new blades for my new Felder K700 saw, I installed one and noticed that I could see it wobble slightly as it braked to a stop. I got out my Oneway gauge and measured the wobble at the outside of the 315mm blade just inside of the carbide teeth. There is a .01" (ten thousandths of an inch) difference between the high spot and the low spot. I then measured two other blades and got about the same results. I am pretty sure it is not due to arbor runout, since the high and low spots are at different positions on different blades and are not necessarily 180 degrees opposite each other. Is this typical of most blades, and is it acceptable?

Bill

Bill Reed
04-03-2008, 12:14 PM
Sorry for the confusion. I really meant to say ten one-thousandths of an inch, i.e. one hundredth of an inch.

Bill

Terry Browne
04-03-2008, 2:06 PM
I'm not an expert, but as a general rule anything less than .015 is acceptable. However, less is always better.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-03-2008, 2:30 PM
IMHO....realistically...wood is dynamic not like metal. I doubt that much of the time my tools will cut closer than 0.015"....and the wood itself can move/warp/twist/bend that much from released internal pressures and finish drying.....JMHO.

David DeCristoforo
04-03-2008, 3:07 PM
You need to keep in mind the fact that most saw blades have some degree of "static warp" that will "flatten out" at operating speed. The best way to test a blade (or saw) is to make a cut. If the cut clean, the measured "runout" of a few thousandths is pretty much moot. If the cut is ragged or the stock burns or there are any other issues, then it's time to look for alignment or runout issues.

YM

Tom Henderson2
04-03-2008, 6:12 PM
Hi BIll-

What is the lateral runnout (flange wobble) at the flange itself?

Measuring at the blade rim is often misleading, as others have pointed out.

-Tom H.

Cliff Rohrabacher