PDA

View Full Version : Learning curve

curtis rosche
04-02-2008, 11:27 AM
As you guys know i have been learning the art of turning. I have been using/taught to use a roundnose scraper to turn. but now i have learned to use the gouges, :eek: big difference, alot quicker, stays sharper. It still jumps on me once in a while but its gettin better, the main thing i still need to work on is form. Could some one make a list of the profiles that are good form? or point me towards one for platters, and bowls, up until now i have just kinda been going with what the wood wants to do. Keeping things big as possible with no bad spots, and trying to keep any figure i find. Im not that good at form because im one of those people who likes just about any of the shapes that i make just because its something i made. As of now there are 2 platters i am working on now that are about 16in. One is cherry and is about 3in thick to work with. The other is a peice of laminated beam 1x16. Both are glued to a waste block. Hopefully theres a list of forms that i can go off of, or someone can help.

Ben Gastfriend
04-02-2008, 1:23 PM
I found this in a book I have called "Popular Mechanics Workshop: Lathe Fundamentals, the Complete Guide. Hopefully there are some good ideas for forms here.

Dennis Peacock
04-02-2008, 1:28 PM
Ben has pointed you in a very good direction. One problem many turners have is trying to save as much wood as they can and forgetting about "form". I've been guilty of that for a long time and have finally gotten around to "oh never mind about how big this is, I want THIS shape" kind of thing and it actual gets better as time progresses. Get a picture in your minds eye and see how close you can come to that image. Remember, you are developing your skill, comfort factor at the lathe, how to get the form you desire, and how to get it off the lathe with the added WOW factor.