PDA

View Full Version : Anybody tried the Delta Sharpening system?

Circa Bellum
03-31-2008, 3:29 PM
specifically looking at the DELTA 23-710 SHARPENING CENTER. This thing looks pretty cool to me, but then I'm a newbie. Any input would be gratefully absorbed...

http://structuraldamage.blogspot.com

Terry Bigelow
03-31-2008, 4:22 PM
Wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. Setup time is way too long. You end up with un-square edges unless you spend gobs of time fiddling with it. Not saying it won't work, but it's not worth the hassle. A bit messy too. Mine has been sitting in a cabinet for 3+ years now. I actually bought it because I was too cheap(poor;)) to buy the Tormek. There's a good reason for the price difference. If you are truly a "newbie" I would suggest getting some good stones a guide. Not the fastest method(at first), but not that complicated either. There's a wealth of info both here and in books to get you started. This is a nice guide:http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=1&p=51868&cat=1,43072,43078&ap=1
I would reccomend it (as will others), but if you want something a little cheaper these do quite fine and are as straight foward as can be:http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=1&p=33003&cat=1,43072,43078&ap=1 I used one for years with great results. I have since bought the Jet wet wheel sharpener and would reccomend it as well altough it is not necessary. I'm sure others can help you as well.

Barry Vabeach
03-31-2008, 10:12 PM