PDA

View Full Version : Dowelmax or not -- YES!

Ray Schafer
03-30-2008, 1:10 AM
Well, My Dowelmax came in on Monday -- just about the fastest delivery that I have ever seen. I received the Dowelmax, the 1/4 inch kit and two extra drill bits ... and dowels.

Well, today I started playing with it. I put some simple boxes together. I was surprised by one thing ... I guess I was just assuming that it would work out of the box (without any thought required) for 3/4" Ply. Well, because of the lengths of the dowels, I had to adjust the drill depth for the two different dowel holes. Once I figured it out, it was smooth sailiing.

Here are a few thoughts about using the Dowelmax:
1). It is really awesome. What a great way to construct furniture.
2). It is as easy as they say
3). I was glad that I got the extra drill bits, because I was able to set the drill stops at different lengths and have them ready for whatever depth I needed to drill.
4). I have started to make a drill stop depth gauge ... like I have seen people do for the Kreg pocket jig.
5). It does take some practice to get in the swing of using this tool. Certainly not very much practice, but some.
6). The folks at Dowelmax have been very responsive to my order and my questions ... what a great company to do business with.
7). I have to say this is my favorite tool now!

I highly recommend this tool!
Ray

J. Z. Guest
03-30-2008, 8:18 AM
...3). I was glad that I got the extra drill bits, because I was able to set the drill stops at different lengths and have them ready for whatever depth I needed to drill....

Good thinking. I take it you ordered extra stop collars too? I think I'll do this too.